Nikki & Rich Play VeniceMEET tomorrow & Santa Monica’s Main Street on Sunday

 
Rich and I are taking our current soul/funk drum-and-guitar duo to VeniceMEET on Abbot Kinney tomorrow, Sat 8/11. We’ll be playing there from 11.30 AM-12.45 PM, and we’ll sell our EP at the show.

VeniceMeet is a market for artists = a chance for you to check out independent designers, local craftspeople and to try artisan/specialty foods by 40 exhibitors. There will also be some of those famous LA gourmet food trucks lined up.

VeniceMEET is at 1010 Abbot Kinney Blvd in Venice Beach, on the lot next to the Westminster Elementary School. It runs from 11-5, and there will be other bands playing there after us. www.thevenicemeet.com

If you can’t see us tomorrow, we also play this Sunday 8/12 from 10 AM – 1 PM at the Main Street Farmer’s Market in Santa Monica. Lots of soul, funk and blues tunes = our own stuff + Bill Withers, Ann Peebles, Stevie Wonder, Aretha, Al Green, Sly Stone, Gladys Knight, Otis Redding…
Posted in

3 Comments

  1. Hi Nikki,
    I just spent most of the afternoon with my guitar in my lap trying to pick up on your teaching on the youtube videos on Rivers of Babylon, Lean On Me, No Woman No Cry, and Hey Joe! Before I saw your videos I never thought I could play something like “Hey Joe” convincingly. AND I really need to. I was a big city music teacher (choral conductor with a big music theatre emphasis), had a midlife crisis and got a PhD, taught people to be music teachers in universities for 10 years, and most recently I am in school to be a music therapist. At-risk urban teens have always been in my heart and alot of the kids we serve who benefit from music therapy are in drug and alcohol rehab and can relate to someone who can really play the guitar. So you can see that for me to get what you are teaching in those videos right is not only fun for me but a necessity. The only thing is that I can’t remember what I saw once I get away from the videos (maybe it is my age, yikes). At any rate, I just wanted to tell you that you are a wonderful teacher and should put your teaching videos in a marketable package. You could also do a serious job of educating young and old on a personal basis in groups. I hope you do!

    Sincerely,

    Christina Shields, a Nikki WANNA BE!

    1. Hi Christina,

      Thanks so much for your very, very kind words about my guitar teaching and guitar lesson videos. Coming from someone with your extensive background in music theatre, choral conducting, teaching music teachers, and music therapy on top of that, I’m humbled.

      You’re doing some really important work as a music therapist, especially if you’re working with urban teens struggling with alcohol and drug addictions.

      As far as my videos go, I’ll be launching my own lesson channel on YouTube this fall (I did the videos that you saw for the on-line lesson company Mahalo.)

      I did teach a group class in rock guitar at New School University in NYC – probably the first university-level rock guitar class in the world focusing on great female players, where the students were women. I also was a international guest clinician at another female-focused rock music college in Sweden. Both experiences were amazing! Being based in Los Angeles nowadays, I haven’t gotten to do group classes here, but I’ve written a rock guitar instruction book that will be released by a major music publisher at the NAMM show in January. Look out for it if you like – it’ll cover rock rhythm and lead guitar, and more!

      Many thanks again for taking the moment to write such a kind letter. I wish you the best with all your work in music – keep up your fantastic work!

      Cheers,
      Nikki

Leave a Reply

